Sant'Alberto e la Stazione Valli di Comacchio - Ravenna Intorno

Skip to main content
Ravenna Intorno
Today is Sunday 19 January 2020 Current time
You are in: Home | natural, spa &... | The 'Delta del... | Sant'Alberto e la Stazione Valli di Comacchio

Sant'Alberto e la Stazione Valli di Comacchio - Ravenna

Valli Comacchio - photo D.Pansecchi

The ‘Valli di Comacchio’ site includes Valle Furlana and the southern part of the Valli di Comacchio in the Province of Ravenna.  It presents open and brackish water areas, both displaying a high salinity level (due to a series of canals connecting the place to the sea), and another area, nearer to the banks of the River Reno, where brackish waters present a lower salinity level and several basins (some of which are used for fish farming).   

Furthermore, the space between the dead and active branches of the River Reno includes a lower area of wetlands, cane thickets and brackish waters with a low salinity level, named ‘Volta Scirocco’.

The most important site in the Province of Ravenna facing onto the River Reno and the Valli di Comacchio is ‘Sant’Alberto’, an historical little town where one can visit the “Palazzone” (an ancient building now used as the premises of the Ornithological Museum “A. Brandolini”), an important tourist centre organizing treks through the Delta Park, and the House of poet Olindo Guerrini.

In the vicinity of the Valli di Comacchio there is also Alfonsine, one of the Park’s towns, with its nature reserve and the museum hosted in the House of poet Vincenzo Monti.

Beyond the Strada Romea, between the Delta and the Bellocchio Canal, there is an area of wetlands and forests, which has developed on the dunes separating the Valli di Comacchio from the Adriatic Sea.  This area presents a variety of environments which are extremely important from a naturalistic point of view, with its variegated habitats extending from the coast, its dunes, its lowlands, its low salinity brackish springs, its cane thickets.  Furthermore, its inland displays Mediterranean thicket woods, thermophilic woods, pine-woods, hydric woods, low wetlands and sedge woods.